UK PPL Cost & Hour Building
Published benchmarks put a UK PPL at £14,000 to £16,500 for 55 to 60 hours of flying, against a legal minimum of 45 hours.
What a UK PPL really costs
Most flying school packages quote only the minimum flying hours. The real UK average to pass is 55 to 60 hours, and mandatory non-flying fees add roughly £1,800 on top.
| Course scenario | Flight hours | Direct flying cost | Mandatory extras | Realistic total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Legal minimum | 45 hrs (35 dual / 10 solo) | £9,200 – £11,500 | ~£1,800 | £11,000 – £13,300 |
| UK average (most students) | 55 hrs (45 dual / 10 solo) | £11,400 – £14,200 | ~£1,800 | £13,200 – £16,000 |
| Weather buffer | 65 hrs (55 dual / 10 solo) | £13,600 – £16,900 | ~£1,800 | £15,400 – £18,700 |
Mandatory extras include: Class 2 medical (£200–£250), 9 CAA theory exams (£360–£450), radiotelephony practical test (~£150), skill test examiner fee + test aircraft rental (~£650), CAA licence issue fee (£214), and pilot gear (~£300).
Sourced UK training benchmarks
- Advertised dual rate, four-seater (PA-28)£250 to £280 an hourPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Advertised dual rate, two-seater (Cessna 152)£210 to £240 an hourPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Class 2 medical£200 to £250PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Common prepay discount5% to 10%PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Extras on top of the flyingLanding fees, Class 2 medical and theory exam fees. Stated as a minimum.£1,500PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Legal minimum flying hours45 hoursSherburn Aero ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Nine theory exams with invigilation fees£360 to £450PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- NPPL minimum flying hours32 hoursPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- NPPL total costLimited to UK airspace and daylight VFR.£8,000 to £9,500PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Of the minimum, solo hoursThe rest are dual, with an instructor.10 hoursSherburn Aero ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Two-seater against four-seater over a 50-hour courseRoughly.£2,000PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Typical flying hours to pass55 to 60 hoursPPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
- Typical total cost of a UK PPLAssumes the typical number of flying hours below.£14,000 to £16,500PPL ClubChecked Oct 2026
Flying cost by school
Cheapest first for 45 hours (10 solo, 35 dual).
Calculates aircraft hire and instructor time from each school’s published price list. Landing fees, membership, exams and the medical are extra.
| School | Flying cost for 45 h | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Herefordshire Aero ClubShobdon AirfieldEGBSCessna 152 · Standard rate · £165 / £195 an hour | £8,475 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
| Anglian Flight CentresEarls Colne AirfieldEGSRRobin HR200 · Standard rate · £178 / £198 an hour | £8,710 | Checked Sept 2026Source |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 152 · Standard rate · £180 / £230 an hour | £9,850 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| The Pilot CentreDenham AerodromeEGLDCessna 152 · Standard rate · £175 / £245 an hour | £10,325 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
| Herefordshire Aero ClubShobdon AirfieldEGBSPA28 Archer II · Standard rate · £210 / £240 an hour | £10,500 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
| Anglian Flight CentresEarls Colne AirfieldEGSRCessna 172 · Standard rate · £215 / £245 an hour | £10,725 | Checked Sept 2026Source |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152 · Gold · £180 / £240 an hour, £3,000 paid in advance, includes £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge | £10,744.50 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152 · Silver · £190 / £250 an hour, £1,500 paid in advance, includes £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge | £11,194.50 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172P · Standard rate · £220 / £270 an hour | £11,650 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHPiper PA28 · Standard rate · £220 / £270 an hour | £11,650 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152 · Pay as you go · £205 / £265 an hour, includes £12.10 an hour fuel surcharge | £11,869.50 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| Turweston Flying ClubTurweston AerodromeEGBTPiper Warrior · Standard rate · £200 / £285 an hour | £11,975 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172S · Standard rate · £228 / £278 an hour | £12,010 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / Warrior · Gold · £205 / £265 an hour, £3,000 paid in advance, includes £17.10 an hour fuel surcharge | £12,094.50 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| The Pilot CentreDenham AerodromeEGLDCessna 172 / PA28 161 · Standard rate · £215 / £285 an hour | £12,125 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
| Turweston Flying ClubTurweston AerodromeEGBTPiper Archer III · Standard rate · £215 / £300 an hour | £12,650 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / Warrior · Silver · £220 / £280 an hour, £1,500 paid in advance, includes £17.10 an hour fuel surcharge | £12,769.50 | Checked Oct 2026Source |
| Anglian Flight CentresEarls Colne AirfieldEGSRPiper Arrow III (Turbo) · Standard rate · £265 / £290 an hour | £12,800 | Checked Sept 2026Source |
| Freedom AviationCotswold AirportEGBPPiper Warrior · Standard rate · £250 / £310 an hour | £13,350 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
| Freedom AviationCotswold AirportEGBPAmerican Champion Citabria · Standard rate · £250 / £310 an hour | £13,350 | Checked Aug 2026Source |
Kit you buy for training
- HeadsetThe one large purchase. Some schools lend one for the first lessons, so ask before you buy.What used headsets sell forSearch eBay UK (sponsored)
- Flight computerThe circular slide rule for wind and fuel sums, used in the navigation exam. The CRP-5 is the common UK model.Search eBay UK (sponsored)
- Navigation ruler and protractorFor measuring tracks and distances on a 1:500,000 chart.Search eBay UK (sponsored)
- Pilot logbookEvery lesson goes in it, and it is checked before your skill test.Search eBay UK (sponsored)
- KneeboardHolds the plan and chart on your leg in the cockpit.Search eBay UK (sponsored)
- Theory textbooksThe Air Pilot's Manual series covers the nine theory exams. If you buy used, check the edition is recent.Search eBay UK (sponsored)
- VFR chartBuy the current CAA 1:500,000 edition new. Airspace changes between editions, so an old chart can be wrong.
Prepay tiers & discounts
Some flying schools discount the hourly rate when you deposit funds upfront. The savings below are calculated on the dual instruction hour against the school’s standard pay-as-you-go rate for the same aircraft.
| School | Paid in advance | Dual per hour | Saves on dual |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152 · Pay as you go · solo £205 an hour, plus £12.10 an hour fuel surchargeChecked Oct 2026Source | None | £265 | |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152 · Silver · solo £190 an hour, plus £12.10 an hour fuel surchargeChecked Oct 2026Source | £1,500 | £250 | £15 (6%) |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQCessna 150/152 · Gold · solo £180 an hour, plus £12.10 an hour fuel surchargeChecked Oct 2026Source | £3,000 | £240 | £25 (9%) |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / Warrior · Pay as you go · solo £235 an hour, plus £17.10 an hour fuel surchargeChecked Oct 2026Source | None | £295 | |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / Warrior · Silver · solo £220 an hour, plus £17.10 an hour fuel surchargeChecked Oct 2026Source | £1,500 | £280 | £15 (5%) |
| Flynqy Pilot TrainingCornwall Airport NewquayEGHQPiper PA28 Archer II / Warrior · Gold · solo £205 an hour, plus £17.10 an hour fuel surchargeChecked Oct 2026Source | £3,000 | £265 | £30 (10%) |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 152 · Standard rate · solo £180 an hourPrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.Checked Oct 2026Source | None | £230 | |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172P · Standard rate · solo £220 an hourPrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.Checked Oct 2026Source | None | £270 | |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHCessna 172S · Standard rate · solo £228 an hourPrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.Checked Oct 2026Source | None | £278 | |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHDiamond DA40 · Standard rate · solo £290 an hourPrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.Checked Oct 2026Source | None | £340 | |
| Westair Flying SchoolBlackpool AirportEGNHPiper PA28 · Standard rate · solo £220 an hourPrice list effective 1 April 2026, VAT included. Dual adds the NPPL/PPL instructor rate. The page does not say whether the aircraft rate includes fuel. No block discounts listed.Checked Oct 2026Source | None | £270 |
Post-licence hour building packages
Self-hire blocks for pilots who already hold a licence and are building hours toward a commercial licence (CPL) or instrument rating. Ranked cheapest rate per hour first. Confirm whether fuel is included (wet vs dry) and check home landing fees before booking.
| School | Block | Per hour |
|---|---|---|
| AlmatWolverhampton Halfpenny Green AirportEGBONot stated | 10 h£1,650, Not statedThe page gives a price range for 10 hours and does not say which aircraft each covers. Fuel surcharge applies. Use within 3 months. Current membership required. Landing fees are charged per day for unlimited landings.Checked Oct 2026Source | £165 |
| 10 h£2,150, Not statedThe page gives a price range for 10 hours and does not say which aircraft each covers. Fuel surcharge applies. Use within 3 months. Current membership required. Landing fees are charged per day for unlimited landings.Checked Oct 2026Source | £215 | |
| Modern AirFowlmere AirfieldEGMAPiper PA-38 Tomahawk | 10–24 hDryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £169 |
| 25–49 hDryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £168 | |
| 50–74 hDryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £167 | |
| 75–99 hDryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £166 | |
| 100 hDryBooking fee applies. Fuel, oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Largest block saves 2% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026Source | £165 | |
| Modern AirFowlmere AirfieldEGMAPiper PA-38 Tomahawk | 10–24 hWetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £199 |
| 25–49 hWetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £198 | |
| 50–74 hWetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £197 | |
| 75–99 hWetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Checked Oct 2026Source | £196 | |
| 100 hWetFuel included only when bought at Fowlmere. Booking fee applies. Oil, parking and landing fees are extra. No refund for unused hours.Largest block saves 2% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026Source | £195 | |
| ACS Flight TrainingPerth/Scone AirportEGPTTecnam P-Mentor | 5 h£1,215, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £243 |
| 10 h£2,375, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £237.50 | |
| 15 h£3,465, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £231 | |
| 25 h£5,625, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £225 | |
| 50 h£10,935, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Largest block saves 10% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026Source | £218.70 | |
| Cranfield Flying SchoolCranfield AirportEGTCPiper PA28 Warrior | 10 h£2,350, WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026Source | £235 |
| 25 h£5,750, WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026Source | £230 | |
| 60 h£13,500, WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026Source | £225 | |
| 125 h£27,500, WetCharged on block time.Largest block saves 6% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026Source | £220 | |
| Cranfield Flying SchoolCranfield AirportEGTCSocata TB9 | 10 h£2,350, WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026Source | £235 |
| 25 h£5,750, WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026Source | £230 | |
| 60 h£13,500, WetCharged on block time.Checked Oct 2026Source | £225 | |
| 125 h£27,500, WetCharged on block time.Largest block saves 6% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026Source | £220 | |
| ACS Flight TrainingPerth/Scone AirportEGPTCessna 152 | 5 h£1,290, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £258 |
| 10 h£2,515, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £251.50 | |
| 15 h£3,600, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £240 | |
| 25 h£5,960, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £238.40 | |
| 50 h£11,375, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Largest block saves 12% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026Source | £227.50 | |
| ACS Flight TrainingPerth/Scone AirportEGPTPiper PA28-161 | 5 h£1,390, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £278 |
| 10 h£2,705, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £270.50 | |
| 15 h£3,950, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £263.33 | |
| 25 h£6,400, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Checked Oct 2026Source | £256 | |
| 50 h£12,465, Not statedSelf-hire for pilots who have passed the PPL skills test.Largest block saves 10% an hour against the smallestChecked Oct 2026Source | £249.30 | |
| RavenairLiverpool John Lennon AirportEGGPPiper PA-38 / PA-28 | 10 hNot statedDiscounted when 10 hours are paid in advance. Prices are not published on the page. Landing fees are extra.Checked Oct 2026Source | Not published |
Learning in Florida instead
Florida rates converted to pounds at today’s exchange rate. Under UK CAA regulations, an FAA licence only converts cleanly once you have 100 hours total flight time; under 100 hours, you must still sit all UK ground exams and complete UK flight instruction.
- Cessna 172 wet rental, by Florida metro area$180 to $220 an hourabout £134 to £163 an hourflightschoolcost.comChecked Oct 2026
- Cessna 172 wet, Flight Center International (Miami)Plus a one-time setup fee and a minimum balance. No block terms published.$160 an hourabout £119 an hourFlight Center InternationalChecked Oct 2026
- Florida PPL, all inRental, instructor, ground school, exams and supplies. Source data verified April 2026.$12,000 to $17,000about £8,916 to £12,631flightschoolcost.comChecked Oct 2026
- Instructor (CFI) rate$60 to $85 an hourabout £45 to £63 an hourflightschoolcost.comChecked Oct 2026
- Instructor, Flight Center International (Miami)$60 an hourabout £45 an hourFlight Center InternationalChecked Oct 2026
Pounds are converted at £1 = $1.35, the rate on 5 November 2026. Flights, accommodation and living costs for the weeks away are not in these figures.
The UK CAA converts an FAA licence in one of two ways, depending on total flight time. At 100 hours you pass the UK Air Law and Human Performance exams and a skill test with a UK examiner. Below that you must also complete UK theory instruction, sit every UK PPL theory exam and do whatever flight training a UK approved training organisation sets. CAA conversion rules. Exam and skill test fees are not published in one place, so a full cost for the Florida route cannot be stated.
Going from 55 to 100 hours is 45 more hours. At $160 an hour wet in a Cessna 172 that is $7,200 (about £5,350). The lowest published UK hour-building rate on file is £165 an hour (Modern Air, Piper PA-38 Tomahawk, dry), which makes the same hours £7,425. The aircraft differ, so compare like with like before deciding.
Planning your training
Read our in-depth editorial guide on how to compare PPL and hour-building quotes for advice on wet vs dry rates, tach vs hobbs metering, and avoiding prepaid insolvency traps.
Report missing rates
Know a school’s prepay rate, dual rate, or block deal that is missing? Report it here. Sourced hire rates for every club are on Aircraft Hire.